Share your finished and ready for use plugins here.
-
atom0s
- Site Admin
- Posts: 457
- Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 5:13 pm
Post
by atom0s » Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:16 am
DashCam
Record in-game video!
What is DashCam?
- DashCam allows players to record in-game video with ease.
Videos will be saved to your Ashita folder within the /videos/ directory.
Videos are named in the following format:
Code: Select all
charname_year.day.month_hhmmss.avi
Commands
- DashCam currently includes the following commands:
- /dashcam start [codec] [fps] [quality] - Starts a recording.
- /dashcam stop - Stops a recording.
- /dashcam codec - Lists the available codecs.
- /dashcam codecs - Lists the available codecs.
DashCam will respond to the following commands:
You can use any three of these with the commands above (ie. /record stop).
Codecs
- DashCam allows you to use the encoding codec of your choice that is installed on your system.
This allows users to customize the way they record things in the encoding type of their preference.
Please note:
- DashCam is not guaranteed to work with all codecs!
DashCam may have adverse effects with some codecs!
Some codecs may use more CPU than others. Please be mindful not to fry your hardware using an intensive codec!
By default, DashCam will try to make use of XVid. You can download the official XVid codec here: https://www.xvid.com/
-
Tru14
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:56 am
Post
by Tru14 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:45 am
Having some problems with starting dashcam:
is /dashcam start [xvid] [24] [low] proper formating? I do not understand how the brackets work or the syntax of what should be in the brackets. For example, your example shows [quality] but I don't know the parameters for what "quality" would be. Low/Med/High, Low/Medium/High, Poor/Fair/Good/Great? I don't know. I tried multiple variables and always received an error that it did not work.
Also, If I do "/dashcam start" it says "could not be formatted" or something. But there is an AVI video in my /videos folder. I also do not get an ingame chat log message when I do "/dashcam stop" to know if it stopped. Or maybe it doesn't give a message because the video was never recorded just the placeholder was created (0 bytes).
-
atom0s
- Site Admin
- Posts: 457
- Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 5:13 pm
Post
by atom0s » Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:31 pm
Quality is a number between 0 and 100 and depends on the codec being used.
Are you able to take a screenshot of the error you are getting? I did not code any error that prints out like that, so seeing how it fully looks like may help figure out where its failing for you.
-
Tru14
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:56 am
Post
by Tru14 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:58 am
No screenshot but it looks exactly like this:
I enter:
1. "/load dashcam"
2. "/dashcam start [xvid] [24] [50]"
Chatlog displays:
"[Dashcam] Failed to create the compressed stream."
-
atom0s
- Site Admin
- Posts: 457
- Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 5:13 pm
Post
by atom0s » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:48 am
Try 30 instead of 24 for the FPS.
-
Tru14
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:56 am
Post
by Tru14 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:14 am
Okay, is it set to only utilize 30 and 60?
-
atom0s
- Site Admin
- Posts: 457
- Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 5:13 pm
Post
by atom0s » Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:13 pm
It's set to allow whatever you give it, but I don't think the API allows for non-whole number FPS amounts. I'm not too familiar with the API, I just found an example of how to make use of it and put it into a plugin.
-
Tru14
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:56 am
Post
by Tru14 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 5:12 pm
30 didn't work. Is there supposed to be a space between [x] [x] or is it supposed to be [x][x]? I feel like I'm mimicking the OP exactly.
However, usually I overlook things that are very obvious. I did redownload xvid to make sure. So, hopefully that's not it.
-
atom0s
- Site Admin
- Posts: 457
- Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 5:13 pm
Post
by atom0s » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:19 pm
Ooooh.. I think I see your issue. Don't include the brackets [ ] in your arguments. They are just there to signify what the argument is.
You should be entering things like this:
/dashcam start xvid 30 50
-
Tru14
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:56 am
Post
by Tru14 » Fri Mar 10, 2017 6:48 am
wow.. haha okay. Glad I know what the brackets represent, now. However, I get a new error message.
"[DashCam] Failed to set the stream format."